jump to navigation

The Beginning December 17, 2009

Posted by Jorge in Random Thoughts.
trackback

Life is indeed full of surprises and challenges.

It’s been two months since the touchdown and I can still remember the feeling of excitement and uncertainty on my way home. I admit, I cried a lot when I finally enter the Immigration, when I was waiting for the boarding and when I was in the plane. It was hard for me to leave Malaysia as I had learned to loved them. I learned how to love to eat spicy food, I learned how to love their culture, I learned how to appreciate and discover the country itself. It was indeed a very lovely place with very warm people.

It was a huge adjustment for me when I reached home. I still wake up early, thinking that I shouldn’t be late at work. My body longs for ‘gimik’ every friday because I was used to go down to KL every friday night. I miss the taste of Bahkuteh and Sup Tulang in a very cold weather in Genting.

I miss a lot of things.

But I’m still happy.

I’m happy because God gave me the chance to experience those precious moments. He gave me, out of His love, the experience that I will never forget and I will treasure for the rest of my life.

Yes, I was blessed with so much grace, but I have to sacrifice those things so that I can take the next step and answer the call of the One who gave all these blessings. People thought I was crazy. Giving up all the possesions I have is the best example of having an ‘out of this world’ mind… Maybe I was.

But I’m still happy.

I’m happy because God is calling me. Calling for a very different path and I’m sure not every one is being called in this kind of life. I choose to answer. I choose to give it a shot. I choose to apply in Arvisu and was accepted.

Arvisu House is the house for discernment. For people like me who seriously consider to enter a religious life are being nourished and guided so that we can discern about our life and to know our selves better.

It sounds incredibly good, almost perfect. But it’s not. Definitely not. It requires a lot of hardwork, adjustment, patience and openness. If you will ask me, how’s life so far? I would definitely say ‘It’s hard, but I’m happy’

Hard, because I’m still in the process of adjustment. If there’s any word that surpass ‘adjustment’, I will use that. Imagine a life, full of gimiks and laboy(s), who work with a very comfy office milieu and who earned a lot, will have a 360 degrees life turn. A life who has structured/ limited time, who studies in Ateneo and have no money.

Studying in Ateneo sounds fantastic to our ears but I believe it requires tremendous adjustment for me. Just imagine a guy who graduate from a low class college 7 years ago and who worked in a very relaxed company, studying 4 minor subjects who entails a lot of writing skills which I do not possess. Oh man, you should know how stupid I am in writing! I always crack jokes with my fellow Prenovices that I would love to solve math problems rather than writing a short essay discussing the creation of God from the first four books in the Old Testament. It’s so frustrating.

But I’m still happy.

I’m happy because in every frustrations I have, I became more closer to God. I cried most of my prayer time. I beg for help and support. I seek for comfort and consolation. And because of these, I drew closer to Him. He who never fails to give a hand when I’m in distress and He who never fails to hug me when I sob due to aggravation.

I am happy.

I am very happy.

Comments»

1. bonistation - December 17, 2009

God’s Most Favorite Boi! –
He chose you bro not because of your capabilities! But with your abilities!

babalik din ako for another comment

2. dFish - December 17, 2009

Jorge – you sound both battered and blissful! Part of growing i believe…Keep walking with Him daily.

3. jose lee - December 17, 2009

in everything that happens in your chosen life now, its good to know that theres that sense of happiness inside you.

para sa akin, mahalaga yan, napakahalaga! alagaan natin yan bro, may sinasabi Siya diyan.

ipagpatuloy lang ang pasasalamat, na sa kabila ng pangungulila sa dating buhay, nag-uumapaw pa rin ang saya, dahil sa pinili mo Siya.

4. machongbutiki - December 17, 2009

hahaha. wat can i say, amazing kuya.
hahaha. hindi ko alam ang sasabihin ko.
hang. kelan ka sa Arvisu kuya?
Sometimes, People just cant understand, why?
hehhe. at kasama ko don kasi people ako, ai person pala. hahaha.
id like to hear your “because” …. hehehe.

QUIZ1:
1. Why?
2. Since when?

1. because__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________.
2. since__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________.

5. machongbutiki - December 17, 2009

ps…

in the beginnig was the WOrd, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God, He was with God in the beginning.
=)

Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD - December 18, 2009

hehehe ito ang favorite bible verse ng mga SVD, the Prologue of St. John.

6. BatangMangyan - December 18, 2009

giving up on everything you have may sound stupid to us but surely not to HIM, for it is the most precious gift a person can offer to our Creator. Lucky you were chosen, jorge, and yeah right, telling the world that you are now the God’s most favorite boi is humbly saying that you are so lucky for having called to follow His footsteps.

(ps. God doesn’t care about grammar and punctuations, He is most interested in your Heart šŸ™‚ Toinks!

nice parekoi. ramdam na ramdam ang calling! you have my prayers and anything…am just a text away.

Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD - December 18, 2009

agree! alam mo jorge, ang daming mga gustong pumasok dyan ngunit di nabibigyan ng chance. lucky you, andyan ka…God has plans for you beyond your wildest imaginations. Just be open.

7. pinkdiaries - December 18, 2009

Good to hear that you are happy! And for sure happy din si Bro dahil you chose to be with him! šŸ™‚

Iā€™m happy because in every frustrations I have, I became more closer to God. I cried most of my prayer time. I beg for help and support. I seek for comfort and consolation. And because of these, I drew closer to Him. He who never fails to give a hand when Iā€™m in distress and He who never fails to hug me when I sob due to aggravation.

I am happy.

I am very happy.

We are all happy for you too!! šŸ™‚

God Bless you, and keep safe! šŸ™‚

8. Silent Steps - December 18, 2009

good reflection jorge.
just remeber, we’re all in this together.
we’re here to support you!

9. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD - December 18, 2009

salamat jorge for your warm hospitality pagpunta namin diyan sa arvisu!

in every moments of desolation, there will come tremendous downpour of consolation…(this sounds very ignatian)

mabuhay ka brother jorge! advance merry christmas sa yo!

BatangMangyan - December 18, 2009

eh kelan kaya mag-aaya si jorge sa Christ The King? šŸ™‚

10. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD - December 18, 2009

pahabol: pwede mo ng ipasa ito for your reflection paper…add some bible verses and quotes of st. ignatius…

11. Angelus - December 19, 2009

You sure you can leave all the drinking, partying, and other naughty things behind? I will certainly pray that you will persevere then. All the best!

12. Roger - December 19, 2009

huwow! hmmmmm.
maganda. i was moved when i read your post.

alam kong madami kayong struggle sa Arvisu pero hindi ako makapagtanong minsan or makipagkwentuhan. maybe because of age difference rin siguro. hindi ako sanay na ako yung pinakabata. kaya nahihiya pa ako. hahaha.

well, dont worry, palagi ko kayong pinagdadasal! šŸ™‚

*siguro naman kilala mo ako. haha šŸ™‚

13. yiN - December 20, 2009

Akala ko ako peberit boi ni g0d? Hehe.. Enwei good luck sa new journey dude! =p

14. teentoinks - December 20, 2009

Parekoi… happy to hear you blogging and happy!

God’s most favorite boi, the one who realized that the source of happiness and joy are not by having material things, keep the faith in power parekoi!

15. karoger - December 21, 2009

nawawala comment ko. šŸ˜¦

anyways. rest assured of my prayers!
enjoy the break šŸ™‚

16. dFish - December 23, 2009

MERRY CHRISTMAS JORGE…

17. Fr. Felmar Castrodes Fiel, SVD - December 24, 2009

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. merry christmas jorge…

siyanga pala, andito na sa olutanga si brother robert. bumisita siya dito kanina sa parokya kasama tatay niya…

18. joycee - January 2, 2010

This is amazing! We are all very happy for you Jorgieboy, este Kuya Jorge. Happy new year and may you continue to be a blessing to everyone! šŸ™‚

19. jason - January 3, 2010

congrats kuya jorge..

nakaka elibs ka..

kakaunti lang ang mga kagaya mo na tumatahak ng ganyang daan..
saludo ako sayo..

sigurado kong tuwang tuwa ang mga taong nakapaligid sayo!!!

at HAPPY NEW sa dating laboy jorge na ngayon ay peborit boy na ni God. naks. happy year mula sa hamster ng wordpress. aw.
may title pa. hahaha

20. blurosebluguy - January 5, 2010

praying for the gift of perseverance…..yan ang kailangan mo as you walk ahead!

hapi new year bro!


Leave a Reply

